SA Pharmacist Of The Year Finalists Named, Australia

Aug 12th, 2010 | By healthnews | Category: Health

Main Category: Pharmacy / Pharmacist
Article Date: 12 Aug 2010 – 5:00 PDT

email icon email to a friend   printer icon printer friendly   write icon view / write opinions
<!–   rate icon rate article

The South Australian Branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has announced the finalists in the prestigious Pharmacist of the Year Award.

The finalists are:

- Ms. Kirrily Chambers, accredited pharmacist and diabetes educator;
- Mr. Lewis Pounentis, accredited pharmacist, proprietor and diabetes educator; and
- Ms. Julie Bedford, accredited pharmacist and proprietor.

Ms Chambers has been a pharmacist since 1993 and in 2008 became a HMR and DMAS
accredited pharmacist. In January last year she became the only credentialed diabetes
educator and pharmacist in Australia.

Mr Pounentis is a pharmacist proprietor and has more than 15 years’ experience in
community pharmacy. He is renowned for his passion of providing all of his customers,
both old and new, with the highest levels of customer service and advice – on all health-
related matters. Lewis is an accredited pharmacist and certified diabetes educator
providing professional and compounding services to his local community. In 2009, his
pharmacy was named the winner of the 2009 Australian Small Business Champion (Best
Pharmacy Category).

Ms Bedford is a community pharmacist and proprietor who has built a strong reputation for
the range of professional services she provides through her pharmacy including diabetes
care, smoking cessation and blood pressure monitoring. Julie is an inspiration to her staff
and well known for often going beyond the call of duty. In addition, her commitment to the
local community through health related articles in the local paper, Rotary and the Heritage
Club represents the very being of what a community pharmacist is all about.

South Australian President of the PSA, Grant Kardachi, said the finalists epitomised the
quality of pharmacists in the State and their commitment to their profession.

“The strength of the field of nominations was exceptionally high and I congratulate
everyone who was nominated,” Mr Kardachi said.

“This is the State’s most prestigious pharmacy award and one which recognises the very
best in our profession.

“To be a finalist is indeed an honour.”

The winner of the SA Pharmacists of the Year will be announced at the South Australian
Pharmacy Profession Dinner on Saturday, 21 August.

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

All opinions are moderated before being added.

Please note that we publish your name, but we do not publish your email address. It is only used to let
you know when your message is published. We do not use it for any other purpose. Please see our
privacy policy for more information.

If you write about specific medications or operations, please do not name health care professionals by name.

Contact Our News Editors

For any corrections of factual information, or to contact the editors please use our feedback form.

Please send any medical news or health news press releases to:

Full Text RSS Feeds | WordPress Auto Translator

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.